This Colonial style home was built circa 1909 by Doctor William Randall Brigham who came to Laurens County in 1900 to practice medicine. This wood framed house features an added defined portico, pitched roof and garage barn doors, giving the home a farmhouse look.
A Victorian built by Thomas J. Pritchett circa 1900. Pritchett was the president of the Georgia Warehouse & Compress Company and a director of the Dublin Cotton Mill. This Victorian features an ornate wrap around porch, eyebrow windows, and opulent designed dormers. The home was later sold to popular Dublin mayor Edwin R. Orr. The current resident of the Dublin-Laurens County Museum strives to preserve the inside and outside history.
Pictured: Bellevue Avenue & Oak Street with the Pritchett-Orr-Clark House in the upper right hand of photo.
James M. Finn, a prominent banker built this residence in 1904, on the southeast corner of Bellevue Avenue and South Calhoun Street. Over the years, this immaculate house was the primary residence of only two families and then used as an office. During renovation, the whitewash on the walls was scraped away to reveal what is believed to be the original color of this Queen Anne Victorian.
Two houses stood on this location. The first home was owned by Doctor Charles H. Kittrell, who came to Dublin in the late 1900's and became the first optometrist in Laurens County. The second home was home of Chief Judge Peyton W. Wade, Georgia Court of Appeals, and used as the first location of the Loyal Order of Moose club. The current building located on the property is Capital City Bank. Capital City Bank was first built in 1997, modeling federal style architecture.
The Hooks House, built circa 1897 was relocated to the countryside of Laurens County. Angus Dillion Alsup came from Murfreesboro, Tennessee to Dublin in 1905 to accept a position with the First National Bank, and Judge Peyton Wade came to Dublin from Athens, Georgia and established a large law practice until his appointment to the Court of Appeals, when he relocated to Atlanta. Arthur Abilene Adams was a funeral director in Dublin. Alsup's, Wade's and Adams' houses were demolished for the building of the current post office.
Once the site of the Dasher Home, a wide-spreading structure built around a log home in the 1880s. The Gothic Victorian house was built by Charles W. Brantley, a businessman in Dublin around the turn of the 20th Century. The Family of Reverend Graves, long time pastor of First Baptist Church inhabited the home for a long period of time. This home featured ornate porches, large barge boards, and octagon turrets.
Once the site of the Hilton Hotel in the mid-1890s. The property was leased to G. S. Hooks and became known as the Hooks House. After the death of G. S. Hooks, the hotel was bought by T. W. Hooks and was renamed the New Dublin Hotel. A 1901 fire destroyed the Dublin Academy which was on the southeast corner of Academy and Palmer Streets. The city school board in 1902 erected the Dublin City School on the site of the hotel. A two-story Neoclassical style brick building on the corner of Bellevue Avenue, featuring a full height entry portico, symmetrical facade, wide entablature, and segmental arched window openings that have been partially in-filled. The building now serves as Dublin's City Hall.