Captain Rollin Adolphus Stanley took the first steps to beautify Dublin by planting shade trees on both sides of Bellevue Avenue, from the First Baptist Church to his residence. This Cape Cod style home was built in 1910. The home has a high pitched roof with a gable over the door centered in the front of the home.
A large Craftsman style home that features a broad gable, wide eaves and a large inviting porch, which was built in 1915 by Edgar Thompson Barnes as a gift to his wife, Evie Delle Rice Barnes. Edgar Barnes was heavily involved with agriculture in Laurens County. A stunning rose garden facing Bellevue Avenue is surrounded by salvaged concrete from the original Dublin High School. A lake used to sit to the left (when facing the home) of the Barnes House.
Pictured: Bellevue Avenue once upon a time. Have a historical photo of this home? Contact us!
1111 Bellevue Avenue
The Eubanks home was completed in April 1941, and the land was given to Mrs. Charlotte Iris Claxton Eubanks by her father, Doctor Edward Burton Claxton. The architectural design by Ella Mae Ellis League won an award at the 1936 World's Fair. Alfred Benjamin Eubanks was the owner of a construction company and active in Dublin's community affairs. Charlotte Claxton Eubanks taught in the Dublin City School System, worked with the Laurens County Department of Family and Children, and worked at Dublin Memorial Hospital. The home is a federal styled home and contains 3,289 square feet.
Built in 1930, this one owner house features eyebrow windows, highly detailed portico with reduced smooth ionic columns, fifteen windowed double entry doors and a rectangular transom window above the entry doors.
In 1909, the George Cornelius Clark and Ruby McCord Clark house was located on this site. The current Craftsman style house was built in 1940 and features an expansive porch, exposed rafters under the eves, wide pillars lining the entrance, and a fourteen paned front door.
This Colonial Revival house was built by Doctor Joseph Morgan Page. It is the second oldest surviving brick home, completed in 1920. Dr. Page gave each of his six children a home on Bellevue Avenue. This home was built for Peal Page when she married Edgar Gassaway Simmons. Family descendants occupied the home until the late 1990's. The home features a side gable roof, multi-pane windows, and a transom window over the paneled door.
This stately home built in 1912 was owned by Doctor Alfred Tennyson Coleman, the organizer of Coleman Hospital located on Franklin Street, in Dublin from 1936 till 1953. This house features a formal entrance of semicircle steps and pronounced columns supporting the portico. The home was refreshed and restored in 2018.