The original house on this site was built in 1920, and was the home of Doctor Charles Hodges. That home has been relocated and can be found at 1633 Bellevue Road. Currently, the Carroll house, which was built in 1946, inhabits this location. Features of the house are five dormers on the pitched roof, elaborate portico, and a glass paneled door with transom windows.
In 1936, Dr. Carroll bought the old cotton mill and removed all traces of it, selling the brick to W.R. Werden. Werden used the brick to build this striking Mediterranean style home on Bellevue Road.
Pictured: Original home now located at 1633 Bellevue Road.
This home was built circa 1900 by residents Samuel Tilden Hall and Lizzie Emily Wood Hall. Hall was a partner in the Shewmake-Hall Hardware Store and rendered outstanding community services in Dublin. Lizzie was the manager of the millinery department of the Four Seasons Department Store. Her design of hats was well known throughout the community. The large home featured a wrap around porch, tall windows, and a second story porch. The home was demolished at an unknown date and the current building was built in 2001.
Once the residence of Clyde Inman Hilburn and his wife, Ella Louise Flanders Hilburn. Hilburn was a co-owner of a wholesale grocery store, C I Hilbun and Company located on the corner of South Jefferson and Telfair Streets in Dublin, Georgia. This brick ranch style home was built in 1950. The home features a pitched roof with a gable centered in the middle of the home.
Pictured: A 1955 Thanksgiving ad from Piggly Wiggly.
This property was owned by David Smith Brandon in 1909. The current French Vernacular Revival home on the property was constructed in 1946 out of brick. Noted architect, Ella Mae League designed the home and blueprints reside with the current owners.
The home was designed by Ellamae Ellis League, who was one of the first female architects in Georgia. Martin Willis completed the construction in September 1938 for businessman and founder of Morris State Bank, George Taylor Morris, and his wife, Mary Lou Newton Morris. The formal gardens located in the back were designed by a nurseryman from Forsyth, Georgia featuring a beautiful rose garden. The towering White Pines along the side were planted by Grady Wright of Dublin. The exterior was originally off-white with dark green shutters and contrasting carved stonework surrounding the grand entrance. The home was renovated in 1988 for commercial use by Garbutt Construction Company. Brown Interiors restored the interior, and Paint Lady's Plus handled the painting. The Morris House is now home to the Dublin-Laurens Development Authority and Chamber of Commerce.
Built in 1936, this was the home of William H. Shuman and his wife, Susan Williamson Shuman. Shuman was a co-owner of a meat market with Jack Harden. The market was the birthplace of Jack's Hamburgers. The Minimal Traditional home features a full basement, high pitched roof, and a simple portico that enhances the entry. This beautiful brick home has ivory growing up the steps and along the sides of the home. This location is now home to the Keyton family and J. Keyton Salon.
Pictured: Shuman's Market in 1935 in the right side of the Corker Building downtown.
Built in 1930, this once colonial home features three different roof lines, oblong window panes, and a covered portico. The home features a gable above the front door, and white cast iron railing around the front portico.
Built 1926 this one the houses given to Joseph Morgan Page's child, Buford Blount Page and his wife, Mary Elizabeth Garrett. This Mediterranean style home features a stucco exterior and arched entryway. Pictured: A home of similar design located in the Historic Stonewall District.
Built by Coronel Whiteford S. Ramsey shortly after the war between the states. Ramsey was a prominent figure in shaping the religious, educational, and civic foundation in Dublin, Georgia. The English landscape of the home was designed by W. F. Higgins soon after the completion of the home. The home was torn down to make room for the Southern Bell Offices but the side street took his surname, Ramsey.
Pictured: Gazebo thought to have been built before 1900, was saved and moved and placed in the back yard of Mr. and Mrs. B.B. Page just across Ramsey Street, when the Ramsey home was torn down.
822 Bellevue Avenue
A Craftsman style home built by John L. Simmons in 1910. The Arts and Craft home features a large front porch, transom windows above both porch doors, and decorative brackets under the eaves. The Adams later moved into the home. Judge John S. Adams served as an attorney, mayor of Dublin, judge of city court, and attorney for the Treasury Department. Mrs. Augusta Stanley Adams was an outstanding statewide leader in the Daughter of the American Revolution.
Richard Hershell Lovett House
812 Bellevue Avenue
Richard Hershell Lovett House
This Colonial Revival style home was built in 1933. The home features an embellished roofline, small pane windows, and decorative side panels in the entrance. The home has a chimney on both sides. The pride of the home for many years was the extensive gardens on the grounds bursting with azaleas and dogwoods. The residence started undergoing extensive renovations after being sold in 2022.
Between Garbutt House and Richard Hershell Lovett House
The mounting block that resembles a tree stump on Bellevue Avenue that assisted horse riders and carriages at the arrival to the home of William Spencer Phillips. Phillips engaged selling horses, mules, and fertilizer. He helped to establish the First National Bank. An overgrown pathway that led to the home can still be seen between the Garbutt House and the Richard Hershell Lovett house. The home was relocated to the corner of South Elm Street and Stonewall Street.
802 Bellevue Avenue
Built in 1945 and designed by a Middle Georgia architect Mr. Shultight, the home was purchased in 1998 by Charlie and Jane Garbutt. Mr. Charlie Garbutt, CEO of Garbutt Construction Company, is known statewide for his work and support of historic properties and architecture. Garbutt has completely renovated the home, and it features high quality interiors and an arbor and courtyard area with beautiful garden. Gardening is a skill for which the couple is highly regarded.
In 2016, Garbutt Construction received multiple awards for their work on restoring Dublin's Skyscraper, also known as the First National Bank building. The project was recognized for excellence by The Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation, Build Georgia, and Georgia’s Downtown Association.
Pictured: Before & after of Dublin's First National Bank Building
In 1905, Daniel Webster Gilbert, the co-owner of Gilbert Hardware Company and his wife, Lusinda Carleton Chapman Gilbert built this example of a Queen Anne Victorian during cotton and railroad boom days. This House features a wrap around porch and dormers with ornate trim work of gingerbread cutouts and spindles work.
712 Bellevue Avenue
Known as The Crown Jewel of Bellevue Avenue, this three story house was built in 1902 by Joseph Daniel Smith at a cost of $13,500. Smith sold the home to railroad baron Edward Pierce Rentz, who in turn sold it to First National Bank president, Frank G. Coker. When Coker moved to Atlanta to look after business interests, the house became Claxton-Brigham Hospital and later, the home of Dublin realtor, Thomas Alfred Curry. Bill and Jeanelle Lovett made this grand house their home for six decades.